Cross Roads Camp and Retreat Center

Welcome to my blog! Here is the beginning of my journey outside of the “585”. The “great seminary adventure” begins months before seminary orientation. My first act of formation and service begins at Cross Roads Camp and Retreat Center in New Jersey. Cross Roads is an Episcopal/Lutheran camp that runs a traditional youth summer camp and facilitates retreats. I will be serving as a camp counselor from June- August.

Summer camp ministry has been a passion of mine since my first camp experience at 16 years old. I am a wholly convinced that large parts of who I am are a direct result of the love and energy poured into me during my summer camp experiences. Summer camp also provides a unique and fun space where faith can be explored by children for themselves, in a community that affirms and loves them without question. This is one of the few places young people experience Christianity in its most “earthy” form. They experience it through the community formed. Organic and real Christian community is the life and breath of these sacred spaces.

I am excited to be immersed and work in this new place. I have never been to New Jersey, nor I have ever worked at a summer camp this large. I know the kids I shall serve will change me, and I hope to pour enough energy and love into them to make a lasting positive impact on their lives.

I hope you continue to follow along with this adventure. It will be three years of study, worship, prayer and development. This blog will contain updates, reflections, academic papers, pictures, and eventually sermons. Stay tuned for more updates!

In Grace and Peace,

Josh

Leave a Reply

